FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand, 2023

The 9th edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand and will be held in the Southern Hemisphere for the first time. The hosting rights for the same were bid by only two countries, the other was Colombia.

The event will be held from July 10th to August 20th, 2023.

The Defending champions are the United States, who won their fourth title in 2019. Australia and New Zealand will automatically qualify as host nations.

The draw of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand, 2023
Image Credit: Digital Hub

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will be larger than previous tournaments, with the number of teams in the group stage expanding from 24 to 32. The teams will be split into eight groups, with only the top two teams advancing to the knockout stage.

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
  • Group D: England, Playoff winner Group B, Denmark, China
  • Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Playoff winner Group A
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Playoff winner Group C
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic


  • It will be the first FIFA World Cup to be hosted by a co-confederation. Australia is part of the Asian Football Confederation and New Zealand is a member of the Oceanic branch.
  • It is the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in the Asia-Pacific region.

One thought on “FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *