Germany vs Japan: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know


Germany will open their World Cup campaign with a tough challenge against Japan on Wednesday. The Europeans will undoubtedly be the dominant force in this match at the Khalifa International Stadium, however, Hansi Flick will by no means underestimate his opponents. The Asian powerhouse has been a tough test for the teams in the past and has always made life difficult for the veterans of the game. So Germany will have to be on top of their game to get the three points on Wednesday.

Germany vs Japan key details
Date 23 november
place Khalifa International Stadium
Kickoff time in India 6:30 pm
Kickoff Time in Germany at 2 pm
Kickoff Time in Japan at 10 pm
Kickoff Time in Qatar 4 pm

Not to mention that Germany will also be eager to put behind them the disappointment of the 2018 World Cup, when they were surprisingly knocked out of the tournament at the group stage. Even at Euro 2020, they were eliminated at the round-of-16 stage before finishing only third in League A Group 3 of the latest Nations League. Meanwhile, Japan lost to Belgium at the last-16 stage in Russia four years ago. However, they now have an uphill task of being out of Group E which also features Spain and Costa Rica.

READ MORE – Germany vs Japan: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixtures and Possible Lineups

Germany vs Japan: Records, Stats and Goals

These two countries have not often played on the international stage and the times they have come up against each other have not been in any global tournaments. They had faced each other twice in friendlies and surprisingly the European nation had the upper hand in those encounters. Germany won once while the other ended in a draw. In 2004, the Europeans won 3–0, before playing out a 2–2 draw two years later in 2006.

key details statistics
total matches 2
germany won 1
japan won ,
draws 1
Germany’s total goals 5
total japan target 2
Germany’s biggest victory 3-0 (2004)
Japan’s biggest victory ,

Germany vs Japan Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 Matches (All Competitions) Result
Germany draws Japan 2-2
japan lost to germany 0-3

Leave a Reply