Spain vs Costa Rica: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know


Spain will be looking to start the World Cup on a positive note when they take on Costa Rica in their opening match on Wednesday. Even though the Spaniards will be favorites on paper, they will be well aware of the tough challenge at hand. Furthermore, Spain is entering this World Cup on the back of a poor performance in the previous two editions of the competition. After being knocked out at the group stage in Brazil 2014, they were knocked out at the round-of-16 stage in Russia 2018.

spain vs costa rica key details
Date 23 november
place Al Thumama Stadium
Kickoff time in India 9:30 p.m.
Kickoff Time in Spain 5 pm
Kickoff Time in Costa Rica at 10 am
Kickoff Time in Qatar at 7 pm

This is the first time since the 2010 World Cup that Spain is entering the competition and not many have named them as favorites for the trophy. However, they can take comfort from their impressive performance in the semi-finals of Euro 2020 last year. With a young and exciting squad at his disposal, Luis Enrique could help Spain overcome the odds and go deep into the tournament. Meanwhile, Costa Rica crashed out of the group stage four years ago – something they will be looking to rectify this time around. However, they will also face Germany and Japan in Group E, making their chances of progressing from this stage extremely difficult.

Read More – Spain vs Costa Rica: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixtures and Possible Lineups

Spain vs Costa Rica: Records, Stats and Goals

The countries have not played each other on several occasions in the past. Moreover, they have not come face to face in any global tournament. Hence, it is the first time that both the sets of supporters can watch the contest on a global platform. They have played each other thrice in the past and all have been friendly. After a 2–2 draw in 2011, Spain won the remaining two games in 2015 (2–1) and 2017 (5–0).

key details statistics
total matches 2
spain won 2
costa rica won ,
draws 1
total goals for spain 9
total goals for costa rica 3
Spain’s biggest victory 5-0 (2017)
biggest costa rica win ,

Spain vs Costa Rica Head-to-Head Record

Last 5 Matches (All Competitions) Result
spain beat costa rica 5-0
spain beat costa rica 2-1
Costa Rica draws Spain 2-2

Leave a Reply