Uruguay vs South Korea: Records, Stats, Goals, Head to Head & everything to know


South Korea will be put to a tough test in the opening match of the FIFA World Cup at the Education City Stadium in Uruguay on Thursday. Despite the South American nation being favorites on paper, it will be difficult to pick a winner in this match. Uruguay may be favored by many due to the superior quality of the players on the pitch and their experience at this level. After all, Uruguay has won the World Cup twice but both of those victories happened several decades ago. Apart from this, the form of the Asian countries is not bad, which may give them an outside chance to reverse on Thursday.

Uruguay vs South Korea key details
Date november 24
place Education City Stadium
Kickoff time in India 6:30 pm
Kickoff Time in Uruguay at 10 am
Kickoff time in South Korea at 10 pm
Kickoff Time in Qatar 4 pm

The South American country had to dig deep to qualify for the World Cup. He won four consecutive matches in his last four qualifiers to seal his place in the showpiece event. Overall, they finished third with 28 points from 18 games. Uruguay have won two of their last three matches. Meanwhile, there have been ups and downs in South Korea recently. They finished second in Group A of the third round of the World Cup qualifiers with 23 points from 10 matches. However, the Asian side won their last two matches against Cameroon and Iceland.

Read More – Uruguay vs South Korea: FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Stream, Form Guide, Head to Head, Schedule, Fixtures and Possible Lineups

Uruguay vs South Korea: Records, Stats and Goals

These two countries have not frequently come up against each other, but have still come together on some notable occasions. Of the seven matches played between them, Uruguay have surprisingly won six, while South Korea have tasted success on one occasion. They famously faced each other at the round-of-16 stage of the 2010 World Cup when Uruguay won 2–1.

key details statistics
total matches 7
Uruguay won 6
south korea won 1
draws ,
total uruguay goals 1 1
total south korea goals 4
Uruguay’s biggest victory 2-0 (2003, 2007)
South Korea’s biggest victory 2-1 (2018)

Uruguay vs South Korea head-to-head record

Last 5 Matches (All Competitions) Result
South Korea beat Uruguay 2-1
South Korea lost to Uruguay 0-1
Uruguay beat South Korea 2-1
South Korea lost to Uruguay 0-2
South Korea lost to Uruguay 0-2

Leave a Reply