USA, Mexico name preliminary rosters for CONCACAF Cup

CONCACAF released the preliminary USA and Mexico rosters for the upcoming CONCACAF Cup on Tuesday.

The confederation required both countries to submit a preliminary, binding team list of 35 players on the Thursday before a one-off playoff on 10 October to determine CONCACAF entry into the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Both countries must choose their final rosters from their preliminary squad list. They are expected to present their 23-man squad for the playoffs on 1 October.

Mexico manager Ricardo Ferretti named only 32 players to his starting roster, but he made room for Giovanni dos Santos, Jonathan dos Santos and Guillermo Ochoa in that group.

All three players were left out of Ferretti’s squad for the draws against Trinidad and Tobago and Argentina, but could now be back in time for the date against the Americans. It is unknown whether Ferretti will call him back for the case.

Ferretti also found enough room to name Carlos Peña on his list, although the Club Lyon midfielder has underperformed since the World Cup.

United States coach Jurgen Klinsmann offered a few surprises with his 35-man roster, but he needed to sort out a number of availability and injury issues for the players at his disposal.

Injured fullbacks DaMarcus Beasley and Fabian Johnson both appeared earlier this month after being named by Klinsmann as his preferred starters, while Timmy Chandler and Brec Shea both missed roster spots.

Klinsmann also named Stanford forward Jordan Morris in his selection, but he has yet to decide whether Morris will join the senior team in California or instead strengthen concurrent Olympic qualifying efforts.


goalkeeper – Moises Muñoz (Club America), Guillermo Ochoa (Málaga), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca),

defenders Osvaldo Alanis (Chivas), Paul Aguilar (Club América), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Israel Jimenez (Tigres UANL), Miguel Leyun (FC Porto), Rafael Márquez (Hellas Verona), Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven), Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad), Arturo Rivas (Tigres UANL), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres UANL)

midfielder Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Jonathan dos Santos (Villarreal), Jesús Dueñas (Tigres UANL), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca), Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven), Javier Guemez (Club America), Hector Herrera (FC Porto), Luis Montes (Club Leon), Carlos Peña (Club Leon), Jose Juan Vazquez (Club Leon)

ahead Jesus Corona (FC Porto), Jürgen Damm (Tigres UANL), Giovanni dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Elias Hernandez (Club Leon), Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen), Oribe Peralta (Club America), Raul Jimenez (Benfica), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad)


goalkeeper Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (DC United), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

defenders Ventura Alvarado (Club America), DeMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Greg Garza (Atlas), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland)

midfielder Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Veracruz), Mix Discrud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution) ), Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Danny Williams (Reading), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

ahead Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aaron Johansson (Werder Bremen), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin)

Leave a Reply