World Cup Best Goalkeepers (Golden Glove)

World Cup Best Goalkeepers (Golden Glove)

The Golden Glove Award is given to the best goalkeeper in each FIFA World Cup final. The best goalkeepers have been awarded since the first World Cup in 1930.

From 1930 to 1990, the tournament’s All-Star team named one goalkeeper (unless two were named in 1990). This is the name used in the list of top goalkeepers for the contest below.

A special award given to the best goalkeeper at the World Cup, the Lev Yashin Award, was introduced in 1994. The award is honored by the late legendary Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin. In 2010, the Best Goalkeeper Award was renamed the Golden Glove Award.

The FIFA Technical Study Group will determine the winner. The goalkeeper is also eligible for the Golden Ball award, and in 2002 German goalkeeper Oliver Kahn won both awards.

Here is the List of World Cup Best Goalkeepers (Golden Glove)

YearGolden Glove WinnerCountry
2018Thibaut CourtoisBelgium
2014Manuel NeuerGermany
2010Iker CasillasSpain
2006Gianluigi BuffonItaly
2002Oliver KahnGermany
1998Fabien BarthezFrance
1994Michel Preud’hommeBelgium
1990Luis Gabelo Conejo
Sergio Goycochea
Costa Rica
1986Jean-Marie PfaffBelgium
1982Dino ZoffItaly
1978Ubaldo FillolArgentina
1974Sepp MaierWest Germany
1970Ladislao MazurkiewiczUruguay
1966Gordon BanksEngland
1962Viliam SchrojfCzechoslovakia
1958Harry GreggNorthern Ireland
1954Gyula GrosicsHungary
1950Roque MáspoliUruguay
1938František PláničkaCzechoslovakia
1934Ricardo ZamoraSpain
1930Enrique BallestreroUruguay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *