World Cup Top Goal Scorers (Golden Boot)

World Cup Top Goal Scorers (Golden Boot)

These are the “Golden Boot” or “Golden Boot” winners of each World Cup event. The most scored player in a single World Cup was in 1958 with 13 goals scored by France’s Just Fontaine in his six games. Germany’s Miroslav Klose is the top scorer in the World Cup with 16 goals. Check out the list of the World Cup’s top scorers.

The current rules for tiebreakers are to award the player with the most assists in the event of a tie for the most goals in the tournament (as determined by the FIFA Technical Study Group). If there is still more than one player, the tiebreaker goes to the player who played for the least amount of time. Goals from penalties do not count.

Here is the List of World Cup Top Goal Scorers (Golden Boot)

YearTop Scorer(s)CountryMatches PlayedGoals Scored
2018Harry KaneEngland67
2014James RodríguezColumbia56
2010Thomas MüllerGermany65
2006Miroslav KloseGermany75
2002RonaldoBrazil *78
1998Davor SukerCroatia76
1994Oleg SalenkoRussia36
Hristo StoitchkovBulgaria76
1990Salvatore SchillaciItaly76
1986Gary LinekerEngland56
1982Paolo RossiItaly *76
1978Mario KempesArgentina *76
1974Grzegorz LatoPoland77
1970Gerd MullerWest Germany610
1966Ferreira EusebioPortugal69
1962Drazen JerkovicYugoslavia65
1958Just FontaineFrance613
1954Sandor KocsisHungary511
1950Marques AdemirBrazil67
1938Leonidas da SilvaBrazil48
1934Angelo SchiavioItaly *44
Edmund ConenGermany44
Oldrich NejedlyCzechoslovakia44
1930Guillermo StabileArgentina48

2 thoughts on “World Cup Top Goal Scorers (Golden Boot)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *